Furiously Eclectic People
Caestūs - Printable Version

+- Furiously Eclectic People (http://furiouslyeclectic.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Toying with Sardonicism (http://furiouslyeclectic.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: ə SCHWA (http://furiouslyeclectic.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: Caestūs (/showthread.php?tid=165)



Caestūs - Oedipussy Rex - 09-25-2014

Caestūs
Plural of Cestus, a glove fitted with metal plates used as a weapon. Caestūs must be worn as a pair and their use prevent the use of shields and other weapons. As with punching, the base damage increases a Rank for each Rank in Warrior above 7th.

Damage: d1/d30
Type: Crunchy
Races: H,D,E,O,G*,He,1⁄2*
Shield: No
Dual-Wield: --

Caestūs, Spiked
As Caestūs, but with pointy bits on them, whether fitted into the gloves, or dipping the gloves first in honey then in glass or rock shards.

Damage: d1/d30
Type: Stabby
Races: H,D,E,O,G*,He,1⁄2*
Shield: No
Dual-Wield: --

*Gnomes and Halflings roll a damage die for every two Points of Success over the first. i.e., 1 die for 1 PoS, 2 dice for 3 PoS, 3 for 5, etc.


RE: Caestūs - Oedipussy Rex - 09-29-2014

If only a single Cestus can be used, for whatever reason (amputee, paralyzed arm, etc.), attacks are made at a -1 penalty. Justification: Dual-wielding rules give a +1 to attack and Caestūs have that +1 built in. (However, Caestūs do not require Adventure at 5th Rank.) Note that even if a single Cestus is used, it still precludes use of a second weapon or shield.