Furiously Eclectic People
Upgrading Ubuntu? - Printable Version

+- Furiously Eclectic People (http://furiouslyeclectic.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Toying with Sardonicism (http://furiouslyeclectic.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Endless Blanket (http://furiouslyeclectic.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Thread: Upgrading Ubuntu? (/showthread.php?tid=57)

Pages: 1 2

Upgrading Ubuntu? - Oedipussy Rex - 04-27-2014

I have been using a flavor of Ubuntu Linux exclusively for -- has it been seven years now? We'll call it 7+/-. Even before Canonical opted for Unity over Gnome Shell or Gnome 3, I had switched to XFCE mainly because I wasn't very fond of Nautilus, which had a tendency to bog down when changing directories, especially when a directory had more than ~1,000 files (yes, I often have directories with more than 1,000 files in it), and the lag only got worse when the files were pictures, pdfs, videos, or any mime-type for which Nautilus would create a preview. So of those 7+/- years of Ubuntu, all but maybe two were with Xubuntu, with short two-hour to two-day stints checking out the progress of Unity before deciding that nope, I don't like it.