Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Movement & Space, 1st & 2nd Ed. Rules Question
#1
There is a Bugbear occupying a ten foot square,  (lets say four 5 foot squares).


Another Bugbear wants to enter the area, but the Rules Lawyer says it can't because the first Bugbear occupies the original ten foot square.

I get that a Bugbear is large, (7 feet tall).  But I don't get that it should be 10 feet wide (or even larger than 5 feet wide), thus preventing the second Bugbear from entering the same ten foot square.

Does anyone know that rule?

Actually it's HackMaster, the parody of 1st Ed.  The only thing I can find on the topic is number of figures (Medium versus Large) that can be around it.
Tracy Johnson

BT







NNNN
Reply
#2
Sounds like 3rd edition nonsense. A quick, not in any way thorough, look through the HMv4 PHB, GMG, and CG shows no rules concerning area of occupation. I did expect to see rules for restricted combat but didn't find those either. Maybe they are in a Hackjournal.
Ə
Maybe I got it rite this time.

booklet
landscape

Join the scorn.
Reply
#3
If he's swinging a polearm in a circle, then it would be difficult, but otherwise, 5' for the Bugbear seems okay, especially if the two Bugbears are fighting on the same side. They are also quick and very capable in combat, especially fighting in groups. Probably better side by side in a 10' area than low level Fighters of the Human sort.

Your situation looks like a job for the GMG Table 10A on page 134. p.133 explains circumstances that sound like what you describe. I used that table to much positive effect multiple times in my HM campaigns.
"Save inches for the bathroom; we're using feet here." ~ Rob Kuntz (2014)

--brought to you by TOLHosting, the service without the site--
Reply
#4
(10-17-2016, 04:32 AM)Oedipussy Rex Wrote: Maybe they are in a Hackjournal.

It's unfortunate we never saw a revised edition of these rules with the HJ info and well, some errata after the populace playtested for them what they obviously never playtested themselves.
"Save inches for the bathroom; we're using feet here." ~ Rob Kuntz (2014)

--brought to you by TOLHosting, the service without the site--
Reply
#5
Thanks for all the replies! Still searching...
Reply
#6
[It turns out the Bugbears were using Glaive-Guisarmes (a polearm), making the Player's justification correct, so table 10A would have been harsh.]
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)