Comic Book Feeds

Understanding Tenant Insurance: What It Covers and Why You Need It

First Comics News - Sat, 06/15/2024 - 08:05
Living in a rented space comes with its own set of perks and challenges. One of the most crucial yet often overlooked aspects is protecting your personal belongings and maintaining…
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

Now THIS is what I call research!

The Splintered Realm - Sat, 06/15/2024 - 00:16
It's Friday night, so what better to do than pull a bunch of old Official Handbooks of the Marvel Universe and Who's Who for DC, and browse some entries. Here's part of my collection...

Right away, I flip to Superman, and it says he could lift one of the Great Pyramids... and that is about 600 million tons. So... a little stronger than Hulk (100 tons)... um. yeah. The entries in the Marvel books are so much richer and more specific (and lean towards trying to sound scientific). The Who's Who books are, on the whole, more hand-wavey. I'm not sure, but I have a 40-year-old memory of reading something where the DC editors and writers wanted more freedom to re-imagine powers as needed, whereas once something was in print for Marvel, fans could immediately start challenging the comic stories vs. the 'facts' of the Handbook - it says Thing can lift 75 tons, but he lifted something that should be over 100 tons, and that's more than he can lift... yaddah yaddah yaddah. Superman can be as weak or strong as the story needs him to be. He can lift a Pyramid one month, and struggle to lift a tank the next, and the writers don't have to justify these against hard numbers that are in print. As a reader, I always wanted the numbers, but now as a sometime writer, I like having a little more wiggle room so that I can challenge heroes within the context of the stories I write. 
And about Stalwart:- I've added a few more gifts and some minor tweaks to the Companion. It's at 12 pages, and I don't think there's too much more I can add... I want to go through it with a fine-tooth comb, but I might lock it down, add some art, and 'release' it this weekend.- I hit 50 copies sold today of the core rules for Stalwart! That's a big milestone for me - in less than two weeks, I've sold 50 books, which is a really great number for me. Another very positive review was posted this week as well, so the momentum is there... I hope it keeps building. I think that the potential audience for this is in the low thousands... we'll see. - I'm working on some actual play that blurs the lines - it would be an adaptation of a backup story that appeared in Doc's comics... so I'd be playing through the plot of the backup stories, and then my actual play will become 'canon' for what happened in those issues. It's kind of meta, but everything about this is kind of meta, so I guess it fits right in.

RICH REVIEWS: Soul Taker # 1

First Comics News - Fri, 06/14/2024 - 23:22
Title: Soul Taker # 1 Publisher: Mad Cave Studios Writers: Thomas Sniegoski, Jeannine Acheson Artist: Valeria Burzo Colorist: Emilio Lecce Letterer: Jim Campbell Cover Artist: Michael Sta Maria Price: $…
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

In the world of body brokerage, making things right is messy work

First Comics News - Fri, 06/14/2024 - 22:25
THE BODY TRADE For fans of Vince Gilligan and Harmony Korine, comes an exciting new series to tantalize and twist your guts FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: JUNE 14, 2024, (PORTLAND, OR) — It’s…
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

BETTY AND VERONICA JUMBO COMICS DIGEST #325 preview

First Comics News - Fri, 06/14/2024 - 22:22
BETTY AND VERONICA JUMBO COMICS DIGEST #325 BRAND NEW STORY! Dr. Masters gives some befuddled citizens of Riverdale (Veronica, Betty, Archie, and Ethel) great dating advice that goes horribly and…
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

ARCHIE HORROR UNLEASHES APOCALYPTIC THRILLS IN ARCHIE COMICS: JUDGMENT DAY MINISERIES

First Comics News - Fri, 06/14/2024 - 22:20
Archie Comics kicks off the first Archie Premium Event in May with the most horrifying version of Riverdale ever seen!   February 13, 2024 – Prepare for a spine-tingling journey…
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

DEFENDERS OF THE EARTH #1 preview

First Comics News - Fri, 06/14/2024 - 22:12
DEFENDERS OF THE EARTH #1 (W) Stan Lee, Bob Harras, Michael Higgins (A) Alex Saviuk, Fred Fredericks The legendary cult classic mini-series is collected for the first time! Sci-fi legend…
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

THE SINISTER SIX DEBUTS, THE MYSTERY BEHIND THE ULTIMATE FANTASTIC FOUR REVEALED, AND MORE IN UPCOMING ULTIMATE UNIVERSE ISSUES!

First Comics News - Fri, 06/14/2024 - 22:12
Learn about ULTIMATE BLACK PANTHER #8, ULTIMATE SPIDER-MAN #9, ULTIMATE X-MEN #7, and ULTIMATES #4, all on sale this September!   Plus, check out Ultimate Spider-Man artist Marco Checchetto’s all-new…
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

GALAXY OF MADNESS #1 preview

First Comics News - Fri, 06/14/2024 - 22:08
GALAXY OF MADNESS #1 (W) Magdalene Visaggio (A/CA) Michael Avon Oeming (C) Taki Soma (L) Morgan Martinez (CB)Paulina Ganucheau (CC)Marc Aspinall In the far-flung thrilling future of the 41st Century,…
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

WHEN THE BLOOD HAS DRIED #3 preview

First Comics News - Fri, 06/14/2024 - 22:05
WHEN THE BLOOD HAS DRIED #3 (W) Gary Moloney (A) Daniel Romero Ulloa (L) Becca Carey Thanks to Boru’s meddling, Meabh finds herself committed to a duel with Darius for…
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

DC COMICS SEPTEMBER 2024 SOLICITATIONS

First Comics News - Fri, 06/14/2024 - 21:56
BATMAN #152 Written by Chip Zdarsky Art by Mike Hawthorne and Adriano Di Benedetto Backup by Kelly Thompson and Mattia De Iulis Cover by Salvador Larroca Variant covers by Guillem…
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

ONI PRESS SEPTEMBER 2024 SOLICITATIONS

First Comics News - Fri, 06/14/2024 - 21:49
THE AUTUMN KINGDOM #1 (of 4) THE AUTUMN KINGDOM #1 (of 4) WRITTEN BY CULLEN BUNN ART BY CHRISTOPHER MITTEN COVER A BY CHRISTOPHER MITTEN COVER B BY ALISON SAMPSON…
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

Come Hang Out in R.L. Stine’s Newest Graveyard, Only at BOOM! Studios

First Comics News - Thu, 06/13/2024 - 20:00
Discover ‘The Breakfast Club’ in a Graveyard this September
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

DONALD DUCK PROVES HIMSELF WORTHY OF THE MIGHTY POWER OF THOR IN MARVEL & DISNEY: WHAT IF…? DONALD DUCK BECAME THOR #1

First Comics News - Thu, 06/13/2024 - 19:49
This September, Marvel and Disney storytelling collide in an all-new mashup comic adventure—MARVEL & DISNEY: WHAT IF…? DONALD DUCK BECAME THOR #1!   The one-shot is the latest crossover between…
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

EISNER AWARD-WINNING THE GOOD ASIAN CREATOR PORNSAK PICHETSHOTE LEADS ALL-STAR CREATIVE TEAM FOR SERIES OF FIVE ONE SHOTS TITLED THE HORIZON EXPERIMENT, LAUNCHING IN SEPTEMBER

First Comics News - Thu, 06/13/2024 - 19:42
The series highlights diverse protagonists in popular genre fare, kicking off with Pichetshote’s James Bond-inspired Chinese spy thriller The Manchurian, joined by superstar artists Terry and Rachel Dodson PORTLAND, Ore.…
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

FIRST LOOK: SHOCKWAVE’S PLAN IS FINALLY REVEALED IN TRANSFORMERS #10 BY DANIEL WARREN JOHNSON AND JORGE CORONA

First Comics News - Thu, 06/13/2024 - 17:55
The Bestselling Energon Universe Story Continues HERE! LOS ANGELES 06/13/2024 — Today Skybound and Image Comics, in collaboration with leading toy and game company Hasbro, revealed interior pages and the…
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

Alien Books Announces New Hires & Promotions for Valiant Comics Publishing Line

First Comics News - Thu, 06/13/2024 - 17:52
Lysa Hawkins (l) and Ron Cacace (r) Alien Books hires Ron Cacace as Director of Communications and promotes Lysa Hawkins to Editor-in-Chief   Alien Books, the NY-based comics publisher, is…
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

A NEW KING CYCLE COMMENCES IN “THE CARLYLE SCHOOL FOR KINGS”

First Comics News - Thu, 06/13/2024 - 17:50
  Screenwriter Nelson Greaves teams up with Davide Castelluccio for a fantastical and thrilling new story MILWAUKIE, Ore., (June 13, 2024) — Discover who dares to be king in The…
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

Tips for Choosing a Mobile-Friendly Online Slot Site in 2024

First Comics News - Thu, 06/13/2024 - 17:21
1. Importance of Mobile-Friendly Online Slot Sites 1.1 Increasing Trend Towards Mobile Gaming In a world where everyone’s glued to their phones, the trend towards mobile gaming is on the…
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

MARVEL AND COCA-COLA BRING THE MARVEL UNIVERSE TO LIFE IN NEW VARIANT COVERS

First Comics News - Thu, 06/13/2024 - 15:01
New Coca-Cola Variant Covers hit stands this August.   New York, NY— June 13, 2024 — This year, Marvel and Coca-Cola assembled for an unprecedented global campaign that brought the…
Categories: Comic Book Blogs

Pages

Subscribe to Furiously Eclectic People aggregator - Comic Book Blogs